Previous Awards and Recognition

Chapter of the Year

The Chapter of the Year Award recognizes chapters who have had a strong impact on their geographical region in a meaningful way through the works of the chapter to produce health information and technology-centered events, education, initiatives, collaborations, advocacy, and more. The Chapter of the Year Award spotlights the amazing work dedicated volunteers perform every year, and illustrates the impact chapters have on the HIMSS mission and the chapter program as a whole.

- 2021 Large Chapter New York State
- 2021 Medium Chapter South Carolina
- 2021 Small Chapter Nevada
- 2020 Large Chapter Georgia
- 2020 Medium Chapter Midwest Gateway
- 2020 Small Chapter South Dakota
- 2019 Large Chapter New England
- 2019 Medium Chapter South Florida
- 2019 Small Chapter Montana
- 2018 Large Chapter Tennessee
- 2018 Medium Chapter Houston
- 2017 Large Chapter Dallas Ft. Worth
- 2017 Medium Chapter Indiana
- 2017 Small Chapter Louisiana
- 2016 Large Chapter Southern California
- 2016 Medium Chapter Central & Southern Ohio
- 2016 Small Chapter Utah
- 2015 Large Chapter Northern California
- 2015 Medium Chapter Colorado
- 2015 Small Chapter Austin
- 2014 Large Chapter Southern California
- 2014 Medium Chapter Arizona
- 2014 Small Chapter Nebraska

Chapter Leader of the Year

The Chapter Leader of the Year Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates significant leadership and extraordinary contributions to the chapter, the chapters program, and the Society. The Chapter Leader of the Year exhibits a strong commitment to strengthening the health information and technology industry in their local region for the betterment of all members.

- 2021 Amy Chacko, MSHMI, PMP, CPHIMS, SHIMSS
- 2020 Sepi Browning, FACHE, FHIMSS, PMP -Georgia
- 2019 Pua Cooper -South Florida
- 2018 Tommy Lewis- Tennessee
- 2017 Chad Cothern, BSN, RN, CPHIMS, FHIMSS-Louisiana
- 2016 Connie McGee -Tennessee
- 2015 Susan Newbold, PhD, RN-BC, FHIMSS-Tennessee
- 2014 Kevin Conway, LFHIMSS -Nebraska
- 2013 Anthony Ferrante New York State and New Jersey
- 2012 Brian Moyer, CPHIMS, FHIMSS Tennessee
- 2011 Denise Hines, PMP, FHIMSS Georgia
- 2010 Samuel King, MPH, MBA, CPHQ, FHFMA, CPHIMS, FHIMSS Southern California

Chapter Advocate of the Year

The Chapter Advocate of the Year recognizes an individual who demonstrates significant leadership and extraordinary contributions in state, local or provincial policy advocacy on behalf of their chapter.

- 2023 Lee Lavergne, Dallas-Forth Worth
- 2022 Ian Slade, Southern California
- 2021 Larry Voyten, Northern Ohio
- 2020 Kendall Brown, South Florida
- 2018 Lauren Wiseman, Greater Illinois
- 2017 Hank Fanberg, Louisiana
- 2016 Rick Moore, Central/Southern Ohio
- 2015 Lee Castonguay, Hawaii-Alaska
- 2014 Helen Hill, Michigan
- 2013 Martha Dameron, Northern California